blank 12/18/13 10:20AM Dangers, Penalties, Talking and Driving

Talking and Driving Nationwide: The Facts

Dangers of Talking and Driving

You're 2 times more likely to be involved in an accident if you text while driving. 18% of distraction-related deaths in America involve cell phone use. Obviously using a phone either for calls or texting is unsafe. Not only is it unsafe, it may be illegal. The following states have laws for cell phone use. (All cell phones, for these purposes, means handheld and hands-free.)  Information from Distraction.gov.

Alabama

Novice drivers (ages 16 or 17 with license less than 6 months) are banned from using hand-held or hands-free cell phones while driving.

Arizona

School bus drivers are banned from using cell phones while driving.

Arkansas

18-20 year old drivers are banned from handheld phones, bus and novice (under 18) drivers are banned from talking on a cell phone while driving.

California

Ban on handheld phones for all drivers, all phones for bus drivers and all phones for new (under the age of 18) drivers.

Colorado

Ban on all cell phone use (handheld and hands-free) for novice (under the age of 18) drivers.

Connecticut

All drivers are banned from using handheld phones, bus drivers are banned from all cell phones while driving and novice (under 18 or with learner's permit) drivers are banned from all cell phones while driving.

Delaware

Handheld ban for all drivers, all cell phones for bus drivers and all cell phones for novice (learner's permit or intermediate license) drivers.

District of Columbia

No drivers are allowed handheld phones, bus drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving and novice (learner's permit) drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Georgia

Bus drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving and all drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Guam

All drivers are banned from using handheld devices.

Hawaii

Handheld ban for all drivers, all cell phone ban for novice drivers.

Illinois

Handheld ban for all drivers (as of 1/1/2014), ban on all cell phone use for bus and novice (under 19) drivers, use of all phones while in construction or school zone.

Indiana

Ban on all cell phone use for novice (under 18) drivers.

Iowa

Ban on all cell phone use for novice (restricted or intermediate license) drivers.

Kansas

Ban on all cell phone use for novice (learner's permit or intermediate license) drivers.

Kentucky

Bus drivers are banned from all cell phone use, as are novice (under 18) drivers.

Louisiana

Ban on handheld phones for drivers, regardless of age, with learner's permit or intermediate license. Ban on all cell phone use for bus and novice (under 18) drivers.

Maine

Ban on all cell phone use for novice (under 18) drivers. Maine has a law making distracted driving illegal.

Maryland

All drivers are banned from using a handheld phone. Those under 18 with a learner's permit or provisional license are banned from all cell phone use while driving.

Massachusetts

Bus and novice (under 18 with learner's permit or provisional license) drivers are prohibited from using all cell phones while driving.

Michigan

Novice drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Minnesota

Bus drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving, as are novice (under 18 with provisional license or learner's permit) drivers.

Mississippi

Bus drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Nebraska

Ban on all cell phone use for novice (under 18 with learner's permit or provisional license) drivers.

Nevada

All drivers are banned from using handheld phones while driving.

New Jersey

All drivers are banned from using handheld phones while driving. Bus and novice (under 21 with GDL or provisional license) drivers are prohibited from using all cell phones while driving.

New Mexico

Ban on handheld phones in state vehicles. Novice drivers banned from using all cell phones while driving.

New York

All drivers are banned from using handheld cell phones while driving.

North Carolina

Bus and novice (under 18) drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

North Dakota

Novice (under 18) drivers prohibited from using all cell phones while driving.

Ohio

Novice drivers are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Oklahoma

Drivers with learner's permit or intermediate license not allowed to use all cell phones while dricing.

Oregon

Ban on handheld phones for all drivers and on all phones for novice (under 18) drivers.

Rhode Island

Bans on all cell phone use for bus and novice (under 18) drivers.

Tennessee

Ban on all cell phone use for bus and novice (learner's permit or intermediate license) drivers.

Texas

Ban on handheld phone use in school zones and all cell phones are banned for use by bus and novice (in the first 12 months) drivers.

Utah

Novice drivers are prohibited from using all cell phones while driving.

Vermont

Drivers under the age of 18 are banned from using all cell phones while driving.

Virgin Islands

All drivers are banned from using handheld phones while driving.

Virginia

Novice (under 18) and bus drivers are prohibited from using all cell phones while driving.

Washington

All drivers are banned from using handheld phones. Novice (learner's permit or intermediate license) drivers are banned from using all phones while driving.

West Virginia

Novice (intermediate license or learner's permit) drivers are prohibited from using all phones while driving. All drivers are banned from using handheld phones.

Wisconsin

Novice drivers are prohibited from using all phones while driving.

Wyoming

Novice drivers are prohibited from using all phones while driving.


blank Permalink | Print | E-mail | Comments (0)