Speedweeks Opener Features Stellar Field

News – 2011 Budweiser Shootout At Daytona Lineup Announced

January 7, 2011

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Jan. 7, 2011) – With
a strong lineup that features former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series
champions, last year’s Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup field, a host of
former outstanding rookies, along with a collection of previous winners
at the sport’s most storied race track, NASCAR announced Friday the list
of eligible competitors for the 2011 Budweiser Shootout at Daytona.
33rd annual season-opening event launches Speedweeks at Daytona
International Speedway on Saturday, Feb. 12 with green flag set for 8:10
p.m. FOX and MRN will broadcast live nationally. It marks the first
NASCAR Sprint Cup Series event held on the track’s newly repaved
surface. Criteria are based upon the following qualifications, with
eligibility based on a driver having competed in the NASCAR Sprint Cup
Series within the last two seasons:
·               The 12 drivers that qualified for the 2010 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
·               Past NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champions
·               Past Budweiser Shootout champions
·               Past Daytona 500 and Coke Zero 400 Powered By Coca-Cola champions
·               NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Rookie of the Year drivers from 2001-2010
you take a look at the field for this year’s Budweiser Shootout at
Daytona, it’s loaded with all-star caliber drivers,” said Robin
Pemberton, NASCAR vice president of competition. “From former series
champions and Chase drivers, to the past 10 rookie of the year
performers, to drivers who have had success at Daytona, we believe the
fans are in store for a terrific and highly competitive event on a brand
new racing surface.”
The race distance will again be 75 laps (187.5 miles), consisting of
two segments – 25 and 50 laps. Both green-flag laps and yellow-flag laps
will count. Between segments there will be a 10-minute pit stop
allowing teams to pit to change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis
adjustments. Crews will be permitted to work on cars and will be allowed
to perform functions they would do on a normal pit stop in a regular
NASCAR Sprint Cup event. All work must be performed on pit road or in
the garage. Changing of springs, shock absorbers or rear-ends will not
be permitted.
Starting positions will again be determined by a blind-draw at the
annual Budweiser Shootout Draw Party on Friday, Feb. 11 at 8 p.m. on the
SPEED stage in the Midway, outside Turn 4.
The Budweiser Shootout – a “non-points” event for NASCAR Sprint Cup
competitors – was first held in 1979, originally known as the Busch
Clash. Kevin Harvick has won the last two events.
         Tickets for all 2011 Speedweeks events are now available online at www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.
Drivers eligible for the 2011 Budweiser Shootout include:
2010 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Drivers
Jimmie Johnson
Denny Hamlin
Kevin Harvick
Carl Edwards
Matt Kenseth
Greg Biffle
Tony Stewart
Kyle Busch
Jeff Gordon
Clint Bowyer
Kurt Busch
Jeff Burton
Others (criteria in parentheses)
John Andretti (Coke Zero 400)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout)
Kevin Conway (Series rookie of the year)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Bill Elliott (Series champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Kasey Kahne (Series rookie of the year)
Bobby Labonte (Series champion)
Terry Labonte (Series champion, Budweiser Shootout)
Joey Logano (Series rookie of the year)
Sterling Marlin (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Mark Martin (Budweiser Shootout)
Jamie McMurray (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Series rookie of the year)
Juan Pablo Montoya (Series rookie of the year)
Ryan Newman (Daytona 500, Series rookie of the year)
Ken Schrader (Budweiser Shootout)
Regan Smith (Series rookie of the year)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *